Community Councils

Community Councils are made up of people who care about their community and want to make it a better place to live. You can access a list of current Community Councils in Fife here.

As well as representing the community, Community Councils organise activities which promote their communities and bring local people together to help make things happen. For more information click here.

Community councils are elected every 4 years. The last community council elections took place on 4 October 2018 with the exception of St Andrews, which was due to go to election on Thursday 21 March, 2019. However, following nominations, it was able to reform without going to poll. 

To re-establish community councils in those areas that didn't have one residents had to submit a petition by Friday 18 January, 2019. The petition had to be signed by 20 electors (people who are on the electoral register) from the community council area.

Following the close of nominations at 4 pm on Thursday 21 February, eight of the ten community Councils had sufficient nominations to re-establish.

In total, 84 valid nominations were received compared to 139 vacancies. The figure for the same community councils in 2014/5 was 40.

The list of community councils and breakdown of valid nominations received is as follows:

Community Council Received Minimum Maximum Current Status
Auchmuty & Woodside 1 8 15 Insufficient nominations
Boarhills & Dunino 4 4 8 Reform without poll
Cairneyhill 9 6 11 Reform without poll
Leven 12 9 18 Reform without poll
Lochgelly 11 8 16 Reform without poll
Methil 9 9 17 Reform without poll
Royal Burgh of St. Andrews 15 10 20 Reform without poll
South Parks & Rimbleton 1 7 13 Insufficient nominations
Strathkinness 10 5 10 Reform without poll
Windygates 12 6 11 Reform without poll

The list of nominations received for each Community Council, including four invalid nominations, can be accessed from Related Publications below.

To find out what community council area you live in click here and enter your postcode - remember to check the 'community council' box.

There are currently no active Community Councils in the following areas:

  • Auchmuty & Woodside

  • Bennochy & Hayfield             

  • Blairhall                                                 

  • Carnbee & Arncroach                        

  • Carnock & Gowkhall             

  • Coaltown of Wemyss            

  • Collessie                                 

  • Crombie                                 

  • Glenwood                               

  • Headwell                                            

  • Izatt Avenue & Netherton                  

  • Kirkcaldy East                        

  • Kirkcaldy North                      

  • Largoward                                                                            

  • Methilhill         

  • Moonzie     

  • South Parks & Rimbleton                           

  • Templehall                             

  • West Wemyss

Residents in the above areas can request that Fife Council call an election for that community council by submitting a petition signed by at least 20 electors in that area. A template petition can be found here.

Once a petition has been received, the Returning Officer will set a date for an election but the Community Council will only be re-established should sufficient electors be nominated to serve on it.




Community Councils
Contact Community Councils online
Go Top
This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more information read our privacy policy.