Community Councils

Community Councils are made up of people who care about their community and want to make it a better place to live. You can access a list of current Community Councils in Fife here.

As well as representing the community, Community Councils organise activities which promote their communities and bring local people together to help make things happen. For more information click here.

Community councils are elected every 4 years. The last community council elections took place on 4 October 2018 with the exception of St Andrews, which will take place on Thursday 21 March, 2019.

Elections for some areas that don’t currently have a Community Council will also take place on the same day.

To re-establish a community council residents had to submit a petition by Friday 18 January, 2019. The petition had to be signed by 20 electors (people who are on the electoral register) from the community council area.

The areas where petitions were received from, and that will go to an election on Thursday 21 March, are:

  • Auchmuty & Woodside

  • Boarhills & Dunino

  • Cairneyhill

  • Leven

  • Lochgelly

  • Methil

  • South Parks & Rimbleton

  • Strathkinness

  • Windygates

Please note that if you’re eligible and would like to vote in the above elections, then you need to register to vote by Thursday 7 February 2019. You can register to vote online at the Government Individual Electoral Registration website

To find out what community council area you live in click here and enter your postcode - remember to check the 'community council' box.

There are currently no active Community Councils in the following areas:

  • Bennochy & Hayfield             

  • Blairhall                                                 

  • Carnbee & Arncroach                        

  • Carnock & Gowkhall             

  • Coaltown of Wemyss            

  • Collessie                                 

  • Crombie                                 

  • Glenwood                               

  • Headwell                                            

  • Izatt Avenue & Netherton                  

  • Kirkcaldy East                        

  • Kirkcaldy North                      

  • Largoward                                                                            

  • Methilhill         

  • Moonzie                                 

  • Templehall                             

  • West Wemyss


Your Enquiry

Please give details below about the nature of your enquiry.

Send enquiry to: Community Councils

If you want to complain about the services you've received from Fife Council please click here



Your Contact Details

Please provide your preferred contact details so we can reply to your enquiry. Privacy Statement

NOTE: Do Not Alter This Field:

Go Top
This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. For more information read our privacy policy.